2018 Candidate Peace Pledge

Candidate Peace Pledge (download a copy here)

As a candidate or incumbent for 2018 Political Office, I commit to work for:
1. Increasing public awareness of the causes and costs of war
2. Restraining our governments from intervening, overtly and covertly, in the internal affairs of other nations
3. Ending the arms race plus reducing and eventually eliminating nuclear weapons
4. Seeking justice for veterans and victims of war
5. Abolishing war as an instrument of national policy
6. Ending systemic racism, poverty, militarism, and ecological devastation
7. Converting the current war economy to an economy based on peaceful, life-affirming, constructive endeavors

Public Officials and Candidates for Public Office Who Have Signed the Pledge

Jo Anne Roake, mayor of Corrales
Garrett Veneklasen, candidate for State Land Commissioner
Rick Miera, candidate for Lt. Governor
Deb Haaland, candidate for CD1
Damian Lara, candidate for CD1
Howie Morales, candidate for Lt. Governor
Mad Hildebrandt, candidate for CD2
Antoinette Sedillo Lopez, candidate for CD1
Alina Irene Valdes, Florida CD 25, candidate (must have found our website)
William Pratt,
candidate for NM HD27
Rep. Miguel Garcia,
Rep. Christine Trujillo,
Benton Howell,
candidate for NM HD44
Billy Garrett,
candidate for NM Lt. Governor

We received a reply from Janice Arnold Jones, Republican Candidate for CD1 thanking us for including her and saying that her policy is not to sign pledges. We received a detailed response from Arthur Castillo, Republican Candidate for NM State Treasurer, but he did not sign the pledge.